The Blushing Peony

DIY Blue skirt July 22, 2011

Filed under: DIY,Satorial Inspiration,Wardrobe — Tangerine Tangerine @ 6:24 pm
Tags: ,

I wanted a blue midi skirt badly after seeing it on Zoe from Haiku Ambulance,

20110723-021122.jpg

20110723-021148.jpg

so I dug around sales bin everywhere and tortured my index finger with a gazillion mouse clicks while I searched Etsy. Nothing. So, I had no choice but to make my own. No pattern used. It’s just one piece of slightly stretchy polyester knit. I’m so lazy I faked a seam. Meaning, I folded the cloth length-wise into half and sewed up the sides. But there would be just one side seam. It’ll look weird. Just to balance things out, I sewed where the other seam would have been as if it were two piece of cloth instead of one. Do I make sense? Anyway, halfway through…

20110723-021310.jpg
… I thought it looked familiar…..

20110723-021514.jpg

20110723-021528.jpg
Image taken from Zara website

Doesn’t it look like the Zara palazzo pants and maxi skirt? For a while I thought I might want to leave it as a maxi. Almost. Then I remember how the escalator ate up my maxi dress..* Snip and so, ladies and gentlemen, the final product…

20110723-022114.jpg
What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

